SB High Speed Bomber

SB (ANT-40) is a high-speed front-line bomber. The most popular serial production aircraft, development of the Design Bureau named after A. N. Tupolev. The first flight took place on the 7th October, 1934 under the control of test pilot K. K. Popov.

 

The first SB serial production aircraft was released in spring 1936. During the years of serial production, the SB has been repeatedly modernized. A total of 6,656 aircraft of various modifications were produced before serial production ceased in 1941.

The SB was an outstanding aircraft for its time, which had a significant impact on the development of combat aviation. It became the ancestor of a whole class of bombers, which were characterized by high flight speed and operated in the front zone in close cooperation with terrestrial troops and the Navy. Aircraft of this class became the main striking force of the future front-line bomber aircraft.

During creation of the new aircraft, the main focus of designers was on the perfection of its aerodynamic layout as one of the main means for achieving the high speed. The requirements of aerodynamics were subject to many structural and technological solutions. In particular, for the first time on an aircraft of this class a smooth metal skin was used instead of a more rigid corrugated one, new at that moment high-strength materials were used, an even rivet was used, a retractable chassis was installed, and the crew cabins were made closed.

 

The selection of the SB aerodynamic scheme was preceded by numerous experimental studies in wind tunnels. Specifically for this aircraft, a new biconvex wing profile was developed in TsAGI. Thus, the SB embodied the most advanced experience and achievements in the field of aerodynamics, aviation materials and technology. The results were brilliant.

The designing of the SB began in 1933, when Design Bureau A.N. Tupolev was tasked with developing a bomber with a maximum flight speed of 330 km/h. A.N. Tupolev, based on the technical capabilities of the aircraft construction of the time and taking into account the prospects for the development of aviation, believed that the bomber could and should have a speed of at least 400 km/h.

If the first specimen of the ANT-40 during the flight tests started in October 1934 showed a speed of 325 km/h, the second aircraft, tested since December 1934, put on a maximum speed of 430 km/h. i.e. almost the same as I-16 the world 's fastest serial fighter!

Serial production of SB continued until 1941 inclusively. A total of 6,831 aircraft of this type were built. The SB took an active part in the fighting of the Great Patriotic War, at the first stage of which they were the main force of the domestic front-line bomber aviation.

Sources: https://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/%D0%90%D0%9D%D0%A2-40

http://www.airpages.ru/ru/tusb.shtml

Скоростной бомбардировщик СБ

СБ (АНТ-40) -скоростной фронтовой бомбардировщик. Самый массовый серийный самолёт разработки КБ А. Н. Туполева. Первый полёт совершил 7 октября 1934 года под управлением лётчика-испытателя К. К. Попова. Первый серийный самолёт СБ был выпущен весной 1936 года. За годы серийной постройки СБ неоднократно модернизировался. Всего до момента прекращения серийного выпуска в 1941 году было выпущено 6656 самолётов различных модификаций.

СБ был выдающимся для своего времени самолетом, оказавшим существенное влияние на развитие боевой авиации. Он стал родоначальником целого класса бомбардировщиков, отличавшихся высокой скоростью полета и действовавших во фронтовой зоне в тесном взаимодействии с наземными войсками и военно-морским флотом. Самолеты этого класса стали основной ударной силой будущей фронтовой бомбардировочной авиации.

Создавая новый самолет, основное внимание конструкторы уделили совершенству его аэродинамической компоновки, как одному из главнейших средств достижения высокой скорости. Требованиям аэродинамики были подчинены многие конструктивные и технологические решения. В частности, впервые на самолете такого класса была использована гладкая металлическая обшивка вместо более жесткой гофрированной, применены новые тогда высокопрочные материалы, использована клепка впотай, поставлено убирающееся шасси, а кабины экипажа сделаны закрытыми.

Выбору аэродинамической схемы СБ предшествовали многочисленные экспериментальные

исследования в аэродинамических трубах. Специально для этого самолета в ЦАГИ был разработан новый двояковыпуклый профиль крыла. Таким образом СБ воплощал в себе самый передовой опыт и достижения в области аэродинамики, авиационных материалов и технологии. Результаты оказались блестящими.

Проектирование СБ началось в 1933 г., когда перед КБ А.Н.Туполева была поставлена задача разработать бомбардировщик с максимальной скоростью полета 330 км/час. А.Н Туполев, основываясь на технических возможностях самолетостроения того времени и учитывая перспективы развития авиации, считал, что бомбардировщик может и должен иметь скорость не менее 400 км/час.

Если первый экземпляр АНТ-40 в ходе летных испытаний, начатых в октябре 1934 г., показал скорость 325 км/час, то второй самолет, испытывавшийся с декабря 1934 г., развил максимальную скорость 430 км/час. т.е. почти такую же, как И-16, являвшийся тогда самым скоростным в мире серийным истребителем!

Серийное производство СБ продолжалось до 1941 г. включительно. Всего построили 6831 самолет этого типа. СБ принимали активное участие в боевых действиях Великой Отечественной войны, на первом этапе которой они являлись основной силой отечественной фронтовой бомбардировочной авиации.

 

Источники: https://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/%D0%90%D0%9D%D0%A2-40

http://www.airpages.ru/ru/tusb.shtml